iGamer Staff Thoughts- More original content may be coming to iGamer

staff-thoughts-konami-code-img

Man, I really needed this weekend! Between baseball, exams, and the site, I needed some time to just do nothing! Please be sure to read this “Staff Thoughts” entry, as it contains important info about new video and written content about the site.

Most of our readers have probably noticed by now that most of iGamer’s video and written reviews are from other websites. In fact, if you read Chris’ Banjo & Kazooie: Nuts and Bolts review, he said, “iGamer doesn’t usually write its own reviews, it just gives links to the usual IGN or GameSpot ones. So to make up for it, I make these reviews very long. That combined with the fact that we are usually penniless to get new games.”

What Chris is saying is very true. In fact after reading the review, I looked further into an idea I’ve had for awhile, renting games. As you probably know, I’m 12 years old (almost 13!), which means that, legally, I cannot have a job that would earn me nearly enough money to buy games for the site. So, I thought, “How could I get games about once a week, but for the cheap?” Then, I remembered a commercial I saw for GameFly, the video game renatl service very similar to Netflix. I specifically remember the free 10-day trail they have, so- with my parents permission ;)- I decided to try out the service.

I have New Play Control: Mario Power Tennis and Marble Saga Koroinpa coming to me in the mail, and they should get to me around Wednesday. If all goes well, which means the service works fine for me, you will be seeing a lot of video reviews from me. In the meantime, I am working on a New Play Control: Pikmin review. And last, but certainly not least, GameFly will allow me to do a lot more LIVE Marathons for the site. But remember, none of this is guaranteed, but it looks good so far!

2 Responses to iGamer Staff Thoughts- More original content may be coming to iGamer

  1. lizoliz says:

    This is great drew i am really glad their will be more video content on the site considering their is very little now. and i will be looking forward to your future game reviews to help decide what game to get.

  2. matt says:

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

